MTL News Archives for 2015

Berggren and Ram named IEEE Fellows

December 2, 2015

IEEE Fellow is a distinction awarded to no more than one tenth of one percent of IEEE members in any one year.

berggren_ram_ieee.jpgMTL core faculty members Karl K. Berggren and Rajeev J. Ram have each been elected as IEEE fellows for 2016. An IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

Professor Karl Berggren is cited by the IEEE "for contributions to nanofabrication and nanomanufacturing in the sub-10 nm regime." He has developed a set of tools and techniques for nanofabrication of structures in the sub-10-nanometer length-scale range. He has particularly focused on using and understanding lithographic patterning with electron and ion beams. He has integrated these structures with self-assembling materials such as block copolymers, and his methods have found practical application in device development and manufacturing. His application of these methods in superconducting and plasmonic devices and materials has resulted in high-performance single-photon detectors in the infrared spectral region. Karl was also recently elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and is a member of the team that won the 2015 Optical Society of America Paul T. Forman award.

Professor Rajeev Ram is cited by the IEEE "for contributions to semiconductor lasers and integration of photonics with CMOS electronics." He has worked on the fundamental physics of semiconductor light sources - including semiconductor lasers without population inversion, semiconductor Bose-Einstein condensation, and on the demonstration of light sources with greater than 100% wall-plug efficiency. His students established the discipline of CMOS Photonics. This work recently led to the demonstration of a single-chip microprocessor with embedded photonics for memory access. Rajeev is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and is a MacVicar Faculty Fellow and a Bose Research Fellow at MIT.

Read more about the IEEE Fellow program here.

--Microsystems Technology Laboratories