MTL News Archives for 2006

MTL Personnel Recognized in 2005-2006 Institute Awards

June 9, 2006

Some familiar names from MTL were among those presented with Institute Awards for the 2005-2006 academic year. The Awards Convocation was held on May 9, while others were awarded throughout the year.

Among those awarded:

EECS' David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize--for an outstanding M.Eng. thesis in electrical engineering
- Michael Scott Bradley G, Bethesda, MD

EECS' Department Special Recognition Award--for outstanding service to the department
- Joel Voldman, Somerville, MA

EECS' Goodwin Medal
- Stephen Hou

EECS' Jerome Saltzer Award--to an outstanding EECS recitation instructor
- Joel L. Dawson, Cambridge, MA

School of Engineering Award: Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Distinguished Teaching--to acknowledge the tradition of high quality engineering eduation at MIT
- Vladimir Bulovic, EECS

Excellence Awards - Institute-Wide: Creating Connections--serving our communities
- Mara Karapetian, MTL (School of Engineering)
- Anne Wasserman, MTL (School of Engineering)

IDEAS Competition awards: $5,000 Award--All Heal
- Professor Alex Slocum, mechanical engineering, Bow, NH

MechE's Luis de Florez Award--for outstanding ingenuity and creativity
- Alexander H. Slocum, Jr. 2008, Bow, NH

Public Service Center Awards: Public Service Fellowship (Summer 2006)
- Denis Daly G, EECS, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

A full listing of all awards can be found here.